The Crucible Trilogy - The Nameless Day (The Crucible Trilogy, Book 1)

By Sara Douglass

The first book of The Crucible, an exciting new historical fantasy from the author of the popular Axis triology.

The Nameless Day is, according to the ancient pagan calendar of Europe, the one day of the year when the world of mankind and the enigmatic world of the spirits touch. Mid-century the forces of evil slide across the divide and invade Europe.

The Church sends Thomas Neville, an English nobleman, on a secret mission through the shadowy forests and arcane religious orders of Europe to discover the extent of the danger. But not even Neville, a priest, is prepared when the horror of the Black Death sweeps across Europe.

The forces of the Church and God rally against the infiltration of the Devil’s minions. The battle has begun.

Format: Paperback
Release Date: 02 Oct 2009
Pages: 592
ISBN: 978-0-00-734832-9
Sara Douglass was born in Penola, South Australia, and spent her early working life as a nurse. Rapidly growing tired of starched veils, mitred corners and irascible anaesthetists, she worked her way through three degrees at the University of Adelaide, culminating in a PhD in early modern English history. Sara Douglass currently teaches medieval history of La Trobe University, Bendigo and escapes academia through her writing.

Praise for previous books in The Axis Trilogy: -

‘BattleAxe is the best Australian fantasy novel I’ve experienced to date.’Martin Livings, Eidolon -

‘Enchanter is utterly enthralling and unputdownable.’Karen Brooks, OzLit -