The Hungry Dark

By Jen Williams

Master of unsettling suspense Jen Williams is back with another chilling, dark read that will draw readers into a gruesome and atmospheric nightmare

Macabre murders plague a rural town as a scam-artist psychic races to find the answers in this haunting thriller from award-winning author Jen Williams, perfect for fans of C.J. Tudor and Alex North.

‘I was absolutely blown away … I could almost feel myself shivering in the shadow of Red Rigg Fell’ James Oswald

‘Nonstop plotting, richly drawn characters and a masterful touch … Fantastic—in every sense of the word!’ Jeffery Deaver

‘The perfect combination of a twisty thriller and a classic horror tale … Jen Williams is at the top of her game’ Alex Finlay

As a child, Ashley Whitelam was haunted by ghostly figures no one else could see. Silent and watchful, these Heedful Ones followed her wherever she went. She hasn’t seen them for eighteen years, not since that fateful night at Red Rigg House.

But now they’re back, and they’re trying to tell her something.

Children start to disappear across the Lake District and Ashley becomes involved in the investigation, eager for free publicity to promote her work as a psychic. She never expected the collaboration to bear fruit, but when she discovers the body of one of the missing children, everything changes.

The police are convinced that she’s involved with the killings, and the press are hounding her for answers. Desperate to clear her name, she works with true crime podcaster, Freddie Miller, to investigate. As they look deeper into the disappearances, Ashley must dig into the demons of her past, before the nightmare in the present comes for her, too.

READERS LOVE THE HUNGRY DARK

‘This was an excellent read, fast paced, frightening and what an ending!’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘An atmospheric story… I love how the characters are developed’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A masterful exploration of the human psyche amidst a backdrop of horror and suspense’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Format: ebook
Release Date: 11 Apr 2024
Pages: None
ISBN: 978-0-00-861776-9
Jen Williams is a writer from London currently living in Bristol with her partner and a dramatically fluffy cat. A fan of grisly fairy tales since her youth, Jen has gone on to write dark, unsettling horror thrillers with strong female leads and character-driven fantasy novels with plenty of adventure and magic. Her first thriller, Dog Rose Dirt, was published by Harpercollins in 2021 and optioned for TV by Gaumont. When she’s not writing books, she enjoys messing about with video games and embroidery. She also works as a freelance copywriter and illustrator.

'Atmospheric and suspenseful, a well-plotted blend of supernatural and crime' Guardian -

'The perfect gothic novel … A proper page turner that you won’t want to read in the dark!' Good Housekeeping -

'Gave us actual goosebumps' Stylist -

'Stifling & puzzling, & so thoroughly unsettling. I loved every creeping moment of Williams' palpitating foray into supernatural horror.' The Fantasy Hive -

I was absolutely blown away. This serial killer mystery and thriller fully embraces its folk horror origins. The spooky, sinister setting is superbly drawn. I could almost feel myself shivering in the shadow of Red Rigg Fell. James Oswald -

”'I, for one, just love tales of crime laced with a hint of the occult and I can think of no better offering in this category of fiction than The Hungry Dark. Nonstop plotting, richly drawn characters and a masterful touch in blending crime procedure with otherworldly gothic makes this novel a one-sitting read. Fantastic” - in every sense of the word!' Jeffery Deaver, author of The Bone Collector and Hunting Time

'The Hungry Dark is a delicious, unforgettable blend of true crime and folklore horror. The interlocking mysteries hooked me; I couldn't stop thinking about it, even long after finishing.' Darcy Coates -

'Turn on the bedside lamp, check under the bed, and be prepared to stay up all night finishing this haunting novel. The Hungry Dark is the perfect combination of a twisty thriller and a classic horror tale, but it’s so much more. It’s a story about discovering our destiny, confronting our demons, and finding our way out of the dark. Jen Williams is at the top of her game.' Alex Finlay -

”'[A] winning mix of heart-pounding plot, eerie urban legends, unreliable protagonists, and full, lush character development.” - Booklist