The Anomaly Quartet - The Echo (The Anomaly Quartet, Book 2)

By James Smythe

The stunning sequel to James Smythe’s critically acclaimed literary sci-fi novel THE EXPLORER

TWENTY YEARS following the spacecraft Ishiguro’s disappearance, humanity is setting its sights on the heavens once more.

Under the direction of two of the most brilliant minds science has ever seen – twin brothers Tomas and Mirakel Hyvönen – this space programme has been tasked with one of the most difficult missions in its history: to study what is being called ‘the anomaly’ – a vast blackness of space thought to be responsible for the loss of the Ishiguro.

But as the anomaly tests Mira and the rest of the hand-picked crew’s sanity, Tomas will have to use all his ingenuity if he is to save his brother and their mission.

Format: Paperback
Release Date: 29 Jan 2015
Pages: 320
ISBN: 978-0-00-745678-9
James Smythe is the winner of the Wales Fiction Book of the Year 2013, and was shortlisted for the Arthur C. Clarke Award 2014. He is the author of THE EXPLORER, the first book in The Anomaly Quartet, as well as the novels THE TESTIMONY, THE MACHINE and NO HARM CAN COME TO A GOOD MAN. James lives in London and teaches creative writing. He can be found on Twitter @jpsmythe

‘If you love GRAVITY try James Smythe’ -

‘Creepy, compulsive Science Fiction’Metro -

‘Science Fiction for those who don’t think they like it’Independent -

‘A tightly knotted, expertly constructed space trip of a read’Guardian -

”'A wonderful examination of coping with loss, time anddeath” - SFX

”'It’s like an episode of Star Trek written by JM Coetzee” - Guardian