Robin Hobb: A reading guide

Robin HobbRobin Hobb is one of the world’s finest writers of epic fiction.

One of the questions we get asked a lot is what order the books should be read in. To help you out, if you’ve just read and loved Assassin’s Apprentice and are wondering where to go next, here’s our handy recommended reading order, which will allow you to gain the most from The Realm of the Elderlings, or a short cut for those who just want to read the story of Fitz and the Fool.

We’ve also included a list of Robin’s other works, in their series, and a list of her writing as Megan Lindholm.



Recommended reading order for Robin Hobb’s series

To get the most out of the books, the recommended reading order for Robin Hobb’s The Realm of the Elderlings series is as follows:

The Farseer Trilogy

The Liveship Trilogy

The Tawny Man Trilogy

The Rainwild Chronicles

Fitz and Fool Trilogy

All of these 13 books are all set in the same world and, to gain the most from all the little clues and hidden information the authors has woven through the books, should all be read: they form one gigantic story, but from different viewpoints.

If you just want to follow the story of Fitz and the Fool you should read:

The Farseer Trilogy
The Tawny Man Trilogy
Fitz and the Fool Trilogy

Set in the same world as Fitz and the Fool:

The Liveships Trilogy
The Rainwild Chronicles

Standalone series set in other worlds:

The Soldier Son Trilogy

Two short story collections:

The Wilful Princess and the Piebald Prince (novella with back story to Farseer Trilogy)
The Inheritance (short stories by Hobb and Lindholm)

Megan Lindholm’s books:

The books written under the name of Megan Lindholm are very varied. Some are urban fantasy, some are science fiction, some less epic traditional fantasy:

The Tillu and Kerlew books

The Ki and Vandien Quartet – The Windsinger series

And finally, three standalone novels by Megan Lindholm:

Other Articles

Voyager Con 2021

We’re thrilled to announce VoyagerCon 2021, a festival of events exploring the worlds of fantasy and science fiction, taking place on 10th and 11th September 2021. All events will be held virtually and tickets are free. If you’d like to attend both days you’ll need to register for both a… Read More

Introducing Kingdom of Souls by Rena Barron

When I sat down to write Kingdom of Souls many years ago, I was terrified. Growing up, I desperately searched for characters in books who looked like me and was always disappointed to find none. I loved reading stories where kids saved the world, tamed dragons, wielded magic, flew… Read More

Welcome to Rilpor, please enjoy the stabbing! by Anna Stephens

On 5 September 2019, the third book in my Godblind Trilogy will be published. Godblind, Darksoul and Bloodchild chart the story of an epic, world-changing and god-killing war of conquest and religious zealotry, not just between the neighbouring kingdoms of Rilpor and Mireces, but between the Gods… Read More